Living what I believe

…for the GLORY of GOD

Being All God Wants You to Be April 22, 2008

Filed under: 161 — nlblount @ 8:29 pm

As I continue the Bible Study “Experiencing God,” a quote from this week’s lesson really struck me and challenged me.  The quote is as follows:

“You sin against God when you miss the mark of His purposes for you.”

How do I know God’s purposes for my life?  Am I doing all I can to build an intimate relationship with Him so that I can hear His voice and distinguish when He is calling me to do something??  I need to daily spend time talking with Him, reading Scripture, and listening for His voice.  I struggle to take time out of my day to do all of this, but that is how intimate relationships are built. 

Am I trusting Him, stepping out in faith, and obeying when I do know He is telling me to do something??  God has blessed me (and all of us for that matter) with various gifts and abilities.  Are we  doing all we are able to be doing for Him for His glory?  We know some of the things He purposes for our life:  showing Christ’s love to a lost world, proclaiming the gospel, helping the poor and the widows, serving, and the list goes on.  How many times have I passed up opportunities and thus sinned against God??  I hate to try and remember, but many. 

God chooses to use us to make a difference in this world.  God set the example and gave the ultimate sacrifice- His son.  What am I doing from day to day to be all that He wants me to be??  Am I stepping out in faith and obedience and trusting Him to work through me and use me, despite my inabilities??

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.